Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 18, 2023

Honorable Mayor Eric Adams Mayor of New York City City Hall New York, NY 10007 Honorable Adrienne E. Adams Speaker of the New York City Council City Hall New York, NY 10007

## **RE: Proposal of New Waterfront Agency**

Dear Mayor Adams and Speaker Adams,

At the Full Board Meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 17, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 1 opposed, 1 abstention and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS there is no single agency responsible for protecting our waterfronts against coastal storms or rising sea levels; and

WHEREAS delays to current coastal protection projects can cause monumental damage; and

WHEREAS there is little motivation amongst agencies to take on new coastal projects causing neglect of traditional waterfront assets;

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** Community Board 8 Manhattan supports Manhattan Borough President Mark Levine's proposal to establish a new waterfront agency that will have jurisdiction over waterfront assets and will be responsible for maintaining marine structures; and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** Community Board 8 Manhattan supports Manhattan Borough President Mark Levine's proposal to move waterfront permitting to the Department of Buildings.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Sahar Husain and Barbara Rudder

Russell Squire Sahar Husain and Barbara Rudder Chair Co-Chairs, Environment Committee

cc: Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District