Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 18, 2023

Honorable Mayor Eric Adams Mayor of New York City City Hall New York, NY 10007 Honorable Adrienne E. Adams Speaker of the New York City Council City Hall New York, NY 10007

RE: One Percent Funding for Parks and Funding for NYCHA Open Space

Dear Mayor Adams and Speaker Adams,

At the Full Board Meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 17, 2023, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 39 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS New York City's Parks Departments aims to increase the tree canopy by thirty percent citywide to help combat the effects of climate change;

WHEREAS Community Board 8 has previously voted to support Manhattan Borough President Mark Levine's proposal to plant a million more trees throughout New York City; and

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED Community Board 8 Manhattan urgers the city to fund the Parks Department at one percent of the city's budget; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan urges the city, state and federal governments to increase funds to NYCHA's budget to support the maintenance of trees and green space on NYCHA properties.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

Sahar Husain and Barbara Rudder

Sahar Husain and Barbara Rudder Co-Chairs, Environment Committee

cc: Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Sue Donoghue, Commissioner, New York City Department of Parks & Recreation