Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 26, 2023

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

<u>RE: Revocable consent application to construct, maintain and use proposed snowmelt system, and fenced-in area, including planters, irrigation conduits, trash enclosure and storage at 18 East 73rd Street</u>

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 19, 2023, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 36 in favor, 7 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; the owners of the townhouse at 18 East 73rd Street have applied for a revocable consent to construct, maintain and use a proposed snowmelt system, and fenced-in area, including planters, irrigation conduits, trash enclosure and storage;

WHEREAS; the building contained an enclosed areaway until 2013, and is proposed to be restored as part of this project; and

WHEREAS; the areaway will extend 4' 9" from the property line, and is proposed to provide a minimum of 5'2" of sidewalk clearance remaining at its narrowest point across from an existing tree pit; and

WHEREAS; the proposed snow melt system is an electric radiant system that will be embedded within the sidewalk with all maintenance and operations to be performed from within the building's cellar; and

WHEREAS; the restoration of the areaway will narrow the sidewalk adjacent to the tree pit and impinge on pedestrians;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 **<u>DISAPPROVES</u>** the revocable consent application to construct, maintain and use proposed snowmelt system, and fenced-in area, including planters, irrigation conduits, trash enclosure and storage at 18 East 73rd Street.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter. Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District