Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

March 21, 2023

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

## RE: Use of Bus Stop at 5th Ave. bet. 61st/62nd Streets by Aurora Tourism Services

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on March 15, 2023, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS**; Aurora Tourism Services LLC has submitted an application to NYCDOT to use the bus stop on 5<sup>th</sup> Avenue just north of 61<sup>st</sup> Street for sightseeing trips; and

WHEREAS; Aurora Tourism Service LLC proposes using double decker buses that would serve the bus stop every two hours between 8AM and Midnight; and

**WHEREAS**; the bus stop at 5<sup>th</sup> Avenue and 61<sup>st</sup> street proposed for use by Aurora Tourism Services LLC is currently only used by MTA Bronx-Manhattan Express Buses for passenger drop-off only; and

**WHEREAS;** NYCDOT will ensure that any future services that may utilize this bus stop will not conflict with scheduled departure times for Aurora Tourism Services LLC buses;

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that Community Board 8 approves the use of the bus stop on 5<sup>th</sup> Avenue immediately north of 61<sup>st</sup> Street for use by Aurora Tourism Services LLC to operate sightseeing buses every two hours between 8AM and Midnight.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair

cc:

Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District