Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

January 26, 2023

Carl Weisbrod, Chair Traffic Mobility Review Board CBD Tolling Program 2 Broadway, 23<sup>rd</sup> Floor New York, NY 10004

## RE: Amendments to Congestion Pricing Timeline, Goals, and Metrics

Dear Chair Weisbrod,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on January 18, 2022, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 41 in favor, 3 opposed, 0 abstention, and 0 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS**; Congestion pricing was passed into law with the intent of generating policy goals with a focus on congestion reduction, improvements to air quality, and revenue generation to support the Metropolitan Transportation Authority, and

WHEREAS; §1706 of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law, Chapter 71, Title 8 Article 44c specifies specific reporting requirements for the Central Business District Tolling Program that will, allow progress to be measured; and

WHEREAS; there has been a history of MTA projects not meeting financial goals; and

WHEREAS; a failure to achieve goals should require the program to be reconsidered;

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, that Community Board 8 calls upon elected officials in the New York State Legislature and Senate to amend the Congestion Pricing law to include a timeline and process by which they will evaluate the success of the program, looking at certain goals and metrics if the measurable program goals related to congestion, air quality, revenue generation and other key metrics are not met within 3 to 5 years. Evaluations and suggested changes shall include a period for public comments.

Russell Squire

Alida Camp and Craig M. Lader

Russell Squire Chair Alida Camp and Craig M. Lader Co-Chairs, Congestion Pricing Task Force

cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Jerry Nadler, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Alex Bores, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District