Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

December 19, 2022

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: No Parking Zone Change request for 828 Madison Avenue

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on December 14, 2022, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 40 in favor, 2 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS; a request has been made by Maxime's at the Westbury Hotel, located at 828-850 Madison Avenue, to change 80' of curbside parking regulations on the west side of Madison Ave. between 69th Street and 70th Street from 2-hour Metered Parking to No Parking Anytime; and

WHEREAS; the parking request change was the result of extensive discussions between Maxime's and other nearby stakeholders, including the Co-Op at 10 East 70th Street and the East 70th Street Block Association; and

WHEREAS; nearby residents have expressed concerns about congestion and double parking that would be exacerbated without these proposed changes from being made; and

WHEREAS; the proposed change in parking regulations will encourage deliveries, trash collection, arrival and departure of patrons, and other activities related to Maxime's operations to occur on Madison Avenue in the No Parking Zone rather than on the more narrow East 70th Street;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan approves the request by Maxime's to change 80' of curbside parking regulations on Madison Avenue in front of their business from 2-hour metered parking to No Parking Anytime, and requests that New York City Department of Transportation install the requested signage.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair

cc:

Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member, 68th Assembly District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District