Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

December 16, 2022

Susan M. Donoghue Commissioner Department of Parks & Recreation 830 Fifth Ave New York, NY, 10065

## **RE: Million Trees Initiative**

Dear Commissioner Donoghue,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on December 14, 2022, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 44 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHERAS, trees help improve the livability of the city by cleaning the air of pollutants, reducing the impacts of climate change, cooling city streets and buildings, absorbing stormwater, serving as habitats for wildlife, adding beauty, and promoting human health and well-being, and;

WHERAS, the majority of trees on public lands are not protected from being removed and there is no sufficient budget for their long-term care, and no coordinated vision or plan for their management and without these policies in place, our urban forest and its many benefits are at risk, and;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that Community Board 8 Manhattan Supports the five Borough Presidents' goal of planting one million more trees by 2035, with an emphasis on increasing equity in canopy distribution by expanding tree canopy in the most heat vulnerable communities, and

**THEREFORE**, **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 endorses the NYC Urban Forest Agenda and supports the implementation of that agenda including: funding for education of tree stewardship programs and encouraging urban forestry careers and work force.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Felice Farber and Judith E. Schneider

Russell Squire Chair Felice Farber and Judith E. Schneider Co-Chairs, Parks and Waterfront Committee cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member, 68th Assembly District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District