Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

November 25, 2022

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Trugit Car Share Program Disapproval

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on November 16, 2022, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 43 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS; New York City Department of Transportation has made permanent a Car Share program that would provide 16 parking spaces at 8 locations across Community District 8; and

WHEREAS; The NYCDOT Car Share program proposes six locations be provided to Getaround, which operates a car share service utilizing primarily small sedans, and two locations to be provided to Truqit for a truck share program utilizing pick-up trucks; and

WHEREAS; the use of pick-up trucks as a car share vehicle would encourage the use of larger and less fuel efficient vehicles that pose safety and health concerns to pedestrians, other drivers and the general public; and

WHEREAS; there are few situations in which someone who resides in Community District 8 may have a specific need for a pick-up truck, and;

WHEREAS; Truqit has not made a compelling case for the need for pick-up trucks to be used for car-sharing;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan disapproves the request by Truqit to be provided use of on-street parking spaces provided by NYCDOT and the use of pick-up trucks in the NYCDOT Car Share Program.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member, 68th Assembly District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District