Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

November 21, 2022

Honorable Kathy Hochul Governor of New York State NY State Capitol Building

Albany, NY 12224

Honorable Andrea Stewart-Cousins Senate Majority Leader 172 State Street, Room 330

Albany, NY 12247

Honorable Carl E. Heastie Speaker of the Assembly LOB 932 Albany, NY 12248

Honorable Mayor Eric Adams

Mayor of New York City

City Hall

New York, NY 10007

Honorable Adrienne E. Adams

Speaker of the New York City Council

City Hall

New York, NY 10007

RE: E-Vehicle batteries

Dear Governor Hochul, Mayor Adams, Leader Stewart-Cousins, Speaker Heastie, and Speaker Adams,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on November 16, 2022, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 41 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS: There have been many accidents and deaths associated with the charging of E-Vehicle batteries; and

WHEREAS: It is known that certain batteries cause explosions when charged; and

WHEREAS: There in an insufficient number of inexpensive charging stations, and

WHEREAS: The City Council has held hearings about regulating the batteries used in E-Vehicles;

BE IT RESOLVED: Community Board 8 Manhattan urges our City and State representatives to pass legislation outlawing batteries that cause danger when charged.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED: Community Board 8 Manhattan urges our City and State representatives to provide for the construction of more inexpensive and easily accessible charging stations.

Please advise our office of any actions taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire Sahar Hussain, Barbara Rudder and Lynne Strong-Shinozaki

Russell Squire Sahar Hussain, Barbara Rudder and Lynne Strong-Shinozaki

Chair Co-Chairs, Environment Committee

cc: Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District