Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

November 23, 2022

Shelton Haynes President & CEO Roosevelt Island Operating Corporation 524 Main Street Roosevelt Island, NY 10044

## RE: Secure Bike Storage Feasibility Study on Roosevelt Island

Dear President Haynes,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 held on November 16, 2022, the board approved the following resolution with a vote of 33 in favor, 10 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS Roosevelt Island continues to experience an overall surge in cycling especially post-pandemic;

WHEREAS biking has increased among Roosevelt Island residents;

WHEREAS Roosevelt Island is a cycling destination with increased cyclists visiting our community;

WHEREAS the Roosevelt Island Operating Corporation will undertake a major capital overhaul of the helix to better facilitate safe cycling, walking and driving upon entering and exiting our community;

**WHEREAS** the lack of protected bike parking options is a major challenge for the growing number of cyclists visiting Roosevelt Island and for Roosevelt Island residents who also bike;

WHEREAS protected bike parking provides a viable option for all cyclists to explore our community as cyclists as well as pedestrians;

WHEREAS Roosevelt Island businesses especially would benefit from the increased pedestrian and cycling commerce;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that we urge the Roosevelt Island Operating Corporation to study the feasibility of strategically deploying protected and enclosed secure bike storage; protected bike parking pods for public use and work with Manhattan Community Board 8's Roosevelt Island Committee and other community stakeholders on the siting of such pods.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Paul Krikler and Lynne Strong-Shinozaki

Russell Squire Chair Paul Krikler and Lynne Strong-Shinozaki Co-Chairs, Roosevelt Island Committee

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York cc:

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District