Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 21, 2022

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

## RE: Revocable Consent application to construct, maintain, and use a stoop and fenced-in area at 890 Park Avenue

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 20, 2022, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 29 in favor, 15 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS; a revocable consent is requested by 890 Park Avenue to construct, maintain, and use a stoop and fenced-in area; and

WHEREAS; the building contained a stoop when originally build in the mid-1800s that was removed in conjunction with the widening of Park Avenue; and

**WHEREAS**; the proposed stoop will result include 3 steps and extend out just over 5 feet beyond the building line; and

**WHEREAS**; an existing sidewalk grate that will also extend just over 5 feet from the property line will be replaced by a garden area surrounding a window well to be enclosed by a rod-iron railing; and

WHEREAS; there is proposed to be 9'11" of sidewalk clearance remaining; and

WHEREAS; the project has received approvals from the Landmarks Preservation Commission and Department of Buildings;

**WHEREAS**; the proposed sidewalk encroachment is perceived to out of context on Park Avenue, where five foot encroachments are not typical;

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, that Community Board 8 <u>DISAPPROVES</u>, as presented, the request by 890 Park Avenue for a revocable consent to construct, maintain, and use a stoop and fenced-in area.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member, 68th Assembly District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District