Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 21, 2022

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Revocable Consent application to construct, maintain and use a fenced-in area including steps and accessible wheelchair lift at 26 East 78th Street

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 20, 2022, the board unanimously **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 44 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS; a revocable consent is requested by 26 East 78th St. to construct, maintain and use a fenced-in area including steps and accessible wheelchair lift; and

WHEREAS; 26 East 78th Street is being converted into a commercial building that must be in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act; and

WHEREAS; the staircase is proposed to be extended by 3' 6" beyond the existing condition to accommodate a wheelchair lift, resulting in a 5' 1/4' encroachment; and

WHEREAS; the staircase will be aligned with neighboring building lines and provide approximately 10' of sidewalk clearance; and

WHEREAS; the project has received approvals from Community Board 8's Landmarks Committee and the Landmarks Preservation Commission;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 approves, as presented, the request by 26 East 78th Street for a revocable consent to construct, maintain and use a fenced-in area including steps and accessible wheelchair lift.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair CC: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member, 68th Assembly District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District