Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 21, 2022

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: 605 East 82nd Street request for a change of parking regulations from "no parking" to "no standing"

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 20, 2022, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 43 in favor, 1 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS; a request to change parking regulations in front of 605 East 82nd Street from No Parking Anytime to No Standing Anytime; and

WHEREAS; vehicles with placards are often parked in front of 605 East 82nd Street, preventing emergency access to the building and making it difficult for vehicles to make a u-turn in the cul-de-sac; and

WHEREAS; parking enforcement on cul-de-sacs such as East 82nd Street east of East End Avenue is recognized as being less stringent than enforcement along thru-streets; and

WHEREAS; no standing regulations would limit the amount of vehicles that would be permitted to in front of 605 East 82nd Street and would discourage drivers from blocking the entrance;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 approves a request to convert two spaces in front of 605 East 82nd Street from No Parking Anytime to No Standing Anytime.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member, 68th Assembly District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District