Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 25, 2022

Honorable Sarah Carroll, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Center Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10007

<u>RE: 18 East 68th Street (Upper East Side Historic District)</u> - Alexander *B. Jacobs, Architect.* - A Beaux-Arts Style building designed by Cass Gilbert and constructed in 1904-05. Application is for installation of a caste-iron gate at the front stoop.

Dear Chair Carroll,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 20, 2022, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 44 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS 18 East 68th Street (also known as the Sloan Mansion) is a Beaux-Arts style building designed by Cass Gilbert and constructed in 1904-05;

WHEREAS the application is for a front stoop gate;

WHEREAS a prior design for a front stoop gate was approved by Community Board #8; the Landmarks Preservation Commission, however, did not issue a Certificate of Appropriateness for the design considering it to be too ornate and to distracting from the openness of the front elevation;

WHEREAS the applicant is now presenting a revised version of the front gate that presents as lower and less dense;

WHEREAS the revised version of a lower front gate does not disturb the view of the main entry door while still incorporating some of the elements of the existing iron work at the front elevation;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this application be APPROVED as presented.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

David Helpern and Jane Parshall

David Helpern and Jane Parshall Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

 cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District