**Russell Squire** Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 25, 2022

David C. Banks Chancellor New York City Board of Education 52 Chambers Street, Room 320 New York, NY 1007

Benjamin Morden President Community Education Council, District 2 Panel for Education Policy 333 Seventh Avenue New York, NY 10001

Angela Green Chair, Mayoral Appointee 501 Courtlandt Avenue, #102 Bronx, NY 10451

## RE: Resolution 199 to Improve School Safety

Dear Chancellor Banks,

At the Land Use meeting of Community Board 8 held on July 13, 2022 the board approved the following resolution with a vote of 35 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstentions, and 1 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS: there have been a spike in gun violence across New York and the country in the past month;

WHEREAS: Numerous schools in Community School District 2 and Manhattan's Community Board 8 have had threats, lockdowns, evacuations, and disruptions to learning due to violence, weapons, or the threat of violence;

WHEREAS: District 2 Community Education Council's Resolution 199 to Improve School Safety provides recommendations to the NYC Department of Education, Chancellor, and Mayor to improve school safety;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED: Community Board 8 supports the recommendations made by CEC2 in Resolution 199 and asks that the NYC DOE adopt the recommendations made.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Vanessa Aronson, Taina Borrero, and Rami Sigal

Russell Squire Vanessa Aronson, Taina Borrero, and Rami Sigal Chair Co-Chairs, Youth, Education and Libraries Committee

Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York cc:

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District