Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

May 24, 2022

Daniel R. Garodnick, Chair City Planning Commission 120 Broadway, 31<sup>st</sup> Floor New York, NY 10271 Janno Lieber, Chair and CEO Metropolitan Transportation Authority 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

Re: 1357 Second Avenue Transit Easement Certification - ULURP Number: N 220377 ZCM

Dear Chair Garodnick and Chair Lieber,

At the Land Use Committee meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 11, 2022, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 19 in favor, 9 opposed, 6 abstention, and 1 not voting for cause:

**WHEREAS**, a transit easement certification via zoning resolution section 95-041 is being sought by CF East 72 Owner LLC, a private applicant, at 1357 Second Avenue to facilitate an as-of-right development, therefore;

**BE IT RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 Manhattan concurs with the MTA that an easement is not required for the proposed development at 1357 Second Avenue, and requests that the CPC certify the MTA's finding due to the location not providing opportunities to provide improved connectivity or accessibility to the 72nd Street Q Train Station, and;

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 Manhattan considers the need for expanded and improved transit accessibility to be paramount, and requests any proposed development in the Special Transit Land Use District along Second Avenue prioritize and incorporate into their design any accessibility upgrades necessary to achieve the addition of elevators connecting street and station mezzanine levels on the southern ends of the 72nd, 86th and 96th Street Q Train stations to supplement the existing elevators on the northern ends of each station.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Edward Gibbs, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District