Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 15, 2022

Honorable Kathy Hochul Governor of New York State NY State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224 Honorable Andrea Stewart-Cousins Senate Majority Leader 172 State Street, Room 330 Albany, NY 12247 Honorable Carl E. Heastie Speaker of the Assembly LOB 932 Albany, NY 12248

RE: Supporting the Clean Slate Act (S.1553C/A.6399B)

Dear Governor Hochul, Majority Leader Stewart-Cousins, and Speaker Heastie,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 13, 2022, the board <u>APPROVED</u> the following resolution by a vote of 35 in favor, 0 opposed, 4 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, people who have experienced incarceration continue to experience discrimination in housing and employment sectors even after they have served their time;

WHEREAS, research has shown that housing and employment support people's ability to continue their contributions to society and prevent recidivism;

WHEREAS, we believe that the stigma of incarceration should not be a perpetual punishment for people who are rejoining their communities;

WHEREAS, we believe, as a community, that we are more successful when we support one another and set our returning community members up for success;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, CB8 supports the Clean Slate Act (S.1553C/A.6399B) as proposed by advocates and policymakers to ensure our communities grow stronger together; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, CB8 would also support a shorter timeframe between the completion of a sentence and the sealing of a person's conviction than the three years prescribed for a misdemeanor conviction and seven years prescribed for a felony conviction as indicated in Clean Slate Act (S.1553C/A.6399B).

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

Sarah Chu and Saundrea 9. Coleman

Sarah Chu and Saundrea I. Coleman, Co-Chairs, Social Justice Committee

cc: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District