Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan Rules and By-Laws Committee February 23, 2022 – 6:30 PM Conducted Remotely on Zoom

## <u>Minutes</u>

*Members Present:* Vanessa Aronson, Gayle Baron, Michele Birnbaum, Lori Bores, Taína Borrero, Alida Camp, Anthony Cohn, Saundrea Coleman, Rebecca Dangoor, Felice Farber, Billy Freeland, Peter Patch, Rita Popper, Elizabeth Rose, Barry Schneider, Rami Sigal, Cos Spagnoletti, Marco Tamayo, and Charles Warren.

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 PM.

The committee co-chairs provided a summary of the agenda, which was to include a discussion of how other community boards in Manhattan approach officer elections and nominations, as well as a discussion of alternatives to Community Board 8's Nominating Committee as it currently exists. The co-chairs provided a report on how other Boards approach nominating and election committees, and then opened the meeting up for discussion.

Board members shared a wide variety of perspectives and preferences – from keeping the nominating committee as is, to eliminating it entirely and replacing it with an elections committee, to keeping it as a nominating committee but modifying how the committee and its 7 members operate. There was substantial discussion about the following topics: the appropriateness of a nominating committee reporting out a slate to the full board; whether the charge and mandate of the nominating committee should change; whether or not in its current form the way the committee operates is democratic and fair; and whether Community Board District Managers should potentially play a role in helping Board Members run elections moving forward.

The Co-Chairs agreed to hold another meeting this spring, at which point they will present alternatives to the Nominating Committee for members of the Board and public to react to. The Committee will also assess improvements to the existing Nominating Committee before bringing amendments before the full board.

No resolutions were passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:57 PM.

## Taína Borrero, Rebecca Dangoor, and Charles S. Warren, Co-Chairs