Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan 505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

February 17, 2022

Susan Donoghue, Commissioner New York City Department of Parks & Recreation 830 Fifth Ave New York, NY, 10065

## **RE: Ruppert Park Redesign**

Dear Commissioner Donoghue,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on February 16, 2022, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention and 0 not voting for cause:

**BE IT RESOLVED** Community Board 8M approves the presentation of **OPTION B**, a new design for Ruppert Park by the Department of Parks & Recreation, as long as the Parks Department considers the following recommendations:

- 1. The exterior fence height be higher than 4 feet.
- 2. Plumbing, electrical and any utilities needed for the park house to be installed with the construction of the park.
- 3. Special signage for the planted area and signage for "no pets except in dog run". Signage must be part of the restoration and be installed when the park reopens.
- 4. Reconsider "Greener" choices for the paved area.
- 5. Come back to the Community Board with the final presentation.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Felice Farber and M. Barry Schneider

Russell Squire Chair Felice Farber and M. Barry Schneider Co-Chairs, Parks and Waterfront Committee

ce: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Honorable William Castro, Manhattan Borough Commissioner DPR