Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

January 13, 2022

Edward F. Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Disapproval of Revocable Consent Request: 160 East 70th Street

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on January 12, 2022, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 41 in favor, 6 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS; a revocable consent is requested to allow a fenced in area in front of a townhouse located at 160 East 70th Street; and

WHEREAS; the revocable consent is needed to accommodate stairs that would lead to a new front entrance that would be located in a sunken front area way; and

WHEREAS; the proposed extension of the front entranceway of 160 East 70th Street would result in the use of two feet of public sidewalk right-of-way; and

WHEREAS; the building's proposed renovation was previously disapproved by CB8's Landmarks Committee; and

WHEREAS; there is no apparent significant public benefit that would result from the private use of the public right-of-way;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan <u>**DISAPPROVES**</u> the request for a revocable consent for a fenced in area in front of 160 East 70th Street.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

ce: Honorable Eric Adams, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Mark Levine, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Julie Menin, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District