Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

November 18, 2021

Gabrielle Fialkoff, Commissioner New York City Department of Parks & Recreation 830 Fifth Ave New York, NY, 10065 Melissa Eger, Commanding Officer 19th Precinct, New York City Police Department 153 East 67th Street New York, NY 10065

RE: Vandalism at UES for BLM Vigil

Dear Commissioner Fialkoff and Commanding Officer Melissa Eger,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on November 17, 2021, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 46 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS the UES for BLM Vigil has continued in Carl Schurz Park since the Summer of 2020, and

WHEREAS the UES for BLM Vigil offers all visitors a place to reflect on the violent attacks on people of color and has been a place for education and community, and

WHEREAS there continues to be vandalism at this site, including spray-painting, ripped signs, and the smearing of feces on the posters, posing significant health risks and safety concerns for those who have continued to visit and care for the Vigil, and

WHEREAS members of the UES for BLM Vigil have continued to raise concerns about the vandalism taking place at the Vigil, therefore

BE IT RESOLVED Community Board 8 Manhattan strongly condemns the vandalism in the Carl Schurz Park and calls on the Parks Department and the NYPD to do everything they can, including sharing any available video footage of this vandalism broadly, to stop these acts of hate.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Tricia Shimamura and Barry Schneider

Russell Squire Tricia Shimamura and Barry Schneider
Chair Co-Chairs, Parks and Waterfront Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District