Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

October 21, 2020

Melanie E. La Rocca, Commissioner NYC Department of Buildings 280 Broadway, 7th Floor New York, NY 10007

RE: CB8 Being Informed of Applications for After-Hours Work Permits.

Dear Commissioner La Rocca,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on October 20, 2021, the board unanimously **<u>APPROVED</u>** the following resolution by a vote of **45** in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS after-hours permits cause great disturbances to nearby residents, and

WHEREAS the Community Board has had numerous complaints about this, and

WHEREAS these permits are not supposed to be automatically granted, and

WHEREAS the Community Board wishes to monitor this situation and assist the public in addressing the problem,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8M request the Department of Buildings to require that all Applicants for after-hours work permits file copies of their applications with the affected Community Boards when they file them with the Department of Buildings.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

Elizabeth Ashby and Anthony Cohn

Elizabeth Ashby and Anthony Cohn Co-Chairs, Zoning & Development Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Bobert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District