Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York **Community Board 8 Manhattan**

October 1, 2021

Honorable Kathy Hochul Governor NYS Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

Honorable Andrea Stewart-Cousins Senate Majority Leader 188 State Street Room 907, LOB Albany, NY 11247

Honorable Carl Heastie Speaker of the Assembly LOB 932 Albany, NY 12248

RE: Support for NY Senate Bill S7296 (regarding leaving the scene of an accident involving an electric scooter or e-bike)

Dear Governor Hochul, Majority Leader Stewart-Cousins, and Speaker Heastie,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on September 20, 2021, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 42 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS; NYS Senate Bill S7296 was introduced by State Senator Liz Krueger in an effort to hold responsible operators of electric scooters and e-bikes that leave the scene of an accident; and

WHEREAS; New York State Law currently does not treat incidents caused by electric scooters and ebikes in a manner to similar to those caused by other motor vehicles

WHEREAS; \$7296 sets penalties for e-bike and electric scooter operators that leave the scene of an accident at levels comparable to those assessed on other motor vehicle operators and would be based on the seriousness of any injuries involved;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan supports New York State Senate Bill S7296 and other initiatives to crack down on operators of electric scooters and e-bikes that leave the scene of an accident which causes injury or death.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Craig Lader and Charles Warren Chair Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York cc:

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District