Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620

New York, N.Y. 10022-1106

info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

(212) 758-4340

(212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

September 29, 2021

Margery Perlmutter, Chair NYC Board of Standards and Appeals 250 Broadway New York, New York 10007

RE: BSA Cal. No. 584-82-BZ - 200 East 64th Street.

Dear Chair Perlmutter,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on Wednesday, September 22, 2021, the following resolution was approved by a vote of 39 in favor, 3 opposed, 2 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS: this is an application filed pursuant to Sections 72-01 and 72-22 of the Zoning Resolution of the City of New York to request an amendment of a previously granted variance under BSA Cal. No. 584-82-BZ to amend the layout of a Privately Owned Public Space ("POPS") located at the Premises; and

WHEREAS: the applicant seeks modifications to the plaza furniture and landscaping; and

WHEREAS: no changes are proposed to the existing plaza physical layout, perimeter, levels or access points; and

WHEREAS: this application fails to address the lack of ADA accessibility on the site; and

WHEREAS: it appears possible to add an ADA accessible ramp to the Third Avenue entrance or a lift to one of the entrances; and

WHEREAS: this application proposes to dramatically reduce the number of hours the POPS would be open to the public, depriving the neighborhood of much needed open space; therefore

Be It Resolved that Community Board 8 **disapproves** this application as presented.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire Chair

Russell Squire

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District