Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 23, 2021

Henry Gutman Commissioner Department of Transportation 55 Water Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10041

RE: Revocable Consent Request - Snowmelt system under the sidewalk of 172 East 73rd Street

Dear Commissioner Gutman,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 21, 2021, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 32 in favor, 1 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS; the owners of 172 East 73rd Street are requesting a revocable consent for an electric snow melt system; and

WHEREAS; the proposed snow melt system is approximately 15 by 25 feet in size under the sidewalk; and

WHEREAS; the system will only be operated when there is a snow event; and

WHEREAS; the system can be accessed from the basement of the home for any needed maintenance and repairs;

WHEREAS; the owner will be asked to install a sign indicating the presence of the snow melt system under the sidewalk and that digging should not occur; and

WHEREAS; the snow melt system benefits the public when operating as intended;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan supports the revocable consent request for a snow melt system in front of 172 East 73rd Street.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Craig Lader and Charles Warren
Chair Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District