Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 23, 2021

Henry Gutman Commissioner Department of Transportation 55 Water Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10041

RE: Commercial Loading Zone regulation in front of Morton Williams Supermarket at 1066 Third Avenue

Dear Commissioner Gutman,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 21, 2021, the board unanimously **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 33 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS; there is an existing "Truck Loading, 7AM to 7PM (Except Sundays) parking regulation in front of the Morton Williams store at 1066 3rd Avenue; and

WHEREAS; Morton Williams typically receives about 40-50 deliveries from vendors daily from vendors arriving in small and large trucks that require no more than one hour to unload their goods;

WHEREAS; Morton Williams has reported that its vendors have been unable to utilize the truck loading zone due to e-commerce companies using the curbside to conduct warehousing activities; and

WHEREAS; Trucks delivering product to Morton Williams have to double park when the truck loading zone is used for warehousing, causing disruption to their business and traffic congestion impacting quality of life and vendors to cease delivery operations to Morton Williams; and

WHEREAS; Morton Williams is viewed as a valued member of the Community as a family-owned and locally owned business that should be provided relief from practices of large e-commerce companies that have been abusing parking regulations;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan requests that NYCDOT change the sign in front of the Morton Williams store at 1066 3rd Avenue to "1 hour Truck Loading, 7AM to 7PM (Except Sundays).

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Russell Squire Craig Lader and Charles Warren
Chair Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Ben Kanos, N 1 C Council Member, 3th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District