Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 23, 2021

Hon. Sarah Carroll, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building 1 Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

RE: 945 Madison Avenue – Upper East Side Historic District – The Frick Madison, Formerly The Met Breur, Formerly The Whitney Museum. *Luciano Johnson, Associate Chief Librarian, Preservation and Imaging, The Frick Collection, presenting for The Frick Madison.* Application is to continue to display vinyl graphics on the facade of the building at 945 Madison Avenue.

Dear Chair Carroll,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 21, 2021, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 28 in favor, 3 opposed, 1 abstention, and 1 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS The Frick Collection is applying for a Certificate of Appropriateness to extend the display of vinyl graphics identifying the museum's temporary location, Frick Madison, on the windows of the main entrance of 945 Madison Avenue;

WHEREAS the Landmarks Preservation Commission granted The Frick Madison a temporary permit for the vinyl graphics, which ended on June 28, 2021;

WHEREAS the proposed Certificate of Appropriateness would allow the graphics to remain in place through the end of the museum's tenure on Madison Avenue — August 11, 2023;

WHEREAS the vinyl graphics have two parts: visible from the street level and on the glass window to the right of the entrance is a vinyl graphic for the word "FRICK"; directly below it, at the sunken garden/plaza area, on the same glass window, but not visible from the public way, is the word "MADISON";

WHEREAS the letters are 6' high; the word "FRICK" is 26' across; the word "MADISON" is 45' across; **WHEREAS** the vinyl for the letters is applied externally and presents as decals;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this application is approved as presented.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

David Helpern and Jane Parshall

Russell Squire Chair

David Helpern and Jane Parshall Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District
Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District
Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District