Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106

(212) 758-4340

(212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website

info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

June 24, 2021

Mitchell J Silver, Commissioner New York City Department of Parks & Recreation 830 Fifth Ave New York, NY, 10065

RE: Restoration of the Croquet Greens in Central Park

Dear Commissioner Silver,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on June 16, 2021, the board unanimously **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 43 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS the New York Lawn Bowling Club is approaching its 100th anniversary in 2026; and

WHEREAS the current state of the bowling lawns in Central Park are uneven, patchy, and nonfunctional for lawn sports; and

WHEREAS the original characteristics of the Moorish Style Mineral Springs building have been lost in its current form; and

WHEREAS there is a need for more restrooms at the current Mineral Springs building; therefore

BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 supports the historical restoration of the Mineral Springs building and urges the Central Park Conservancy and New York City Parks and Recreation Department to restore the lawn to pristine conditions for bowling, croquet, and other lawn activities.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Tricia Shimamura and Barry Schneider

Russell Squire Chair Tricia Shimamura and Barry Schneider Co-Chairs, Parks and Waterfront Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District