Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

June 14, 2021

Marisa Lago, Chair City Planning Commission 120 Broadway, 31st Floor New York, NY 10271

Re: Elevate Transit: Zoning for Accessibility (ZFA), ULURP Number: N210270ZRY. Deadline June 14, 2021

THIS APPLICATION IS DIVIDED INTO TWO PARTS. <u>PART A</u> for the system-wide transit easments. <u>PART B</u> for authorization for transit improvement bonuses in high density areas to facilitate the implementation of ADA access at stations throughout the city.

PART A

At the Land Use Committee meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on June 9, 2021, the board **APPROVED** <u>Part A</u> of the following resolution by a vote of 34 in favor, 7 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS, the proposal includes a system-wide transit easement certification,

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan **approves** PART A of the application for a text amendment as presented.

PART B

At the Land Use Committee meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on June 9, 2021, the board **APPROVED** <u>Part B</u> of the following resolution by a vote of 26 in favor, 11 opposed, 4 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS, the proposal would establish authorization for transit improvement bonuses in high density areas to facilitate the implementation of ADA access at stations throughout the city,

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan **approves** PART B of the application for a text amendment with two conditions. Firstly, that the bonus authorizations go through ULURP instead of being authorized by City Planning. Secondly, that the bonus program be only for vertical accessibility enhancements.

Please advise our office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire

Chair

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District