Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

June 21, 2021

Patrick J. Foye Chairman and CEO Metropolitan Transit Authority 2 Broadway New York, NY, 10004

## **RE:** New MTA Doorway Roosevelt Island Station

Dear President Hayes,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on June 16, 2021, the board unanimously **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 43 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, the Roosevelt Island MTA Station has one main entrance which includes one ADA activated door to the outside, two push-open doors to the outside, and once in the station having three turnstiles and one attendant activated door, which does not successfully deal with the station when it is over crowed and in fact creates an unsafe situation due to outgoing and incoming riders having to push past each other to exit or enter and,

WHEREAS, those entering riders and those exiting riders continually cross paths and impede inflow and outflow of safe pedestrian traffic creating unsafe situations and,

WHEREAS, the station is large enough to accommodate additional doorways on the north side of the station (near Starbucks), where currently there are windows, this would eliminate cross traffic and create a safer flow of riders entering and exiting the station and,

WHEREAS, overcrowding in the station in 2019 created an unsafe and hazardous situation that came close to being catastrophically unsafe and made national headlines because of the unsafe situation,

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, that we respectful request that the MTA add one additional outside push door and one additional ADA door and two additional turnstiles with an additional ADA entrance door directly adjacent to the interior elevator on the North Side of the Station so that Manhattan bound riders and Queens bound riders will be able to enter and exit the station safely no matter how many people use the station at one time.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Lynne Strong-Shinozaki
Lynne Strong-Shinozaki

Russell Squire Chair

Chair, Roosevelt Island Committee

cc: Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District