Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 20, 2021

Commissioner Edward Grayson NYC Department of Sanitation Central Correspondence Unit 59 Maiden Lane, 5th Floor New York, NY 10038 Speaker Corey Johnson New York City Council 250 Broadway New York, NY 10007

## **RE: Funding GrowNYC**

Dear Commissioner Grayson and Speaker Johnson,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 19, 2021, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 43 in favor, 1 opposed, 2 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

**WHEREAS:** The City has eliminated funding to GrowNYC and therefore eliminated compsting drop off sites at green markets, and

WHEREAS: Drop off sites at green markets will encourage individuals to compost, and

WHEREAS: Increased composting is important for the environment, and

**WHEREAS:** Increased composting will minimize garbage disposal and therefore decrease rats and strewn garbage, Therefore

**BE IT RESOLVED,** CB8M urges City Council to reinstate necessary funding to allow GrowNYC to reinstate the composting scrap drop-off sites at green markets.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

Cos Spagnoletti and Barbara Rudder

Cos Spagnoletti and Barbara Rudder Co-Chairs, Environment & Sanitation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District