Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

May 20, 2021

Commissioner Edward Grayson NYC Department of Sanitation Central Correspondence Unit 59 Maiden Lane, 5th Floor New York, NY 10038

## **RE:** Composting Dropoff Sites

Dear Commissioner Grayson,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on May 19, 2021, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 43 in favor, 1 opposed, 2 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

**WHEREAS:** There is only one composting scrap drop off site on the most northern street of the CB8M district, and only on Friday mornings, and

WHEREAS: If there are more locations, it would be encouraging more people to compost, Therefore

**BE IT RESOLVED** that CB8M requests DSNY to provide additional convenient drop off sites throughout our district, at least one in the E. 60's, one in the E. 70's and one in the E.80's in addition to the E.96 St. site, and operating times of the sites should be coordinated such that at all times between early morning and late night, there is at least one site operating in CB8M.

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Cos Spagnoletti and Barbara Rudder

Russell Squire Chair Cos Spagnoletti and Barbara Rudder Co-Chairs, Environment & Sanitation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District