Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

April 23, 2021

Honorable Andrew Cuomo Governor NYS Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224 Honorable Andrea Stewart-Cousins Senate Majority Leader 188 State Street Room 907, LOB Albany, NY 11247 Honorable Carl Heastie Speaker of the Assembly LOB 932 Albany, NY 12248

RE: Nursing Home Staffing Vaccinations

Dear Governor Cuomo, Majority Leader Stewart-Cousins, Speaker Heastie,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 21, 2021, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 45 in favor, 0 opposed, 3 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS, long term care homes house our most vulnerable residents; and

WHEREAS, when a long term care employee tests positive for coronavirus, that employee puts these residents at great risk; and

WHEREAS, residents must then quarantine which causes medical and psychological harm; and

WHEREAS, a state or local government has the authority to mandate the vaccination of certain healthcare workers as a matter of law;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, Community Board 8 Manhattan calls on the governor, the legislature, and relevant state agencies to make whatever state law changes are necessary to require staff of nursing homes who have direct contact with residents to be vaccinated, with exceptions for medical or religious reasons; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, Community Board 8 Manhattan encourages long term care facilities to provide vaccination education to its employees.

Please advise us on any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Rebecca Dangeer, Wilma Jehnsen, and Barbara Rudder

Russell Squire Rebecca Dangoor, Wilma Johnson, and Barbara Rudder Chair Co-Chairs, Health, Seniors, & Social Services Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District