Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

March 18, 2021

Hon. Sarah Carroll, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building 1 Centre Street, 9<sup>th</sup> Floor New York, NY 10007

## **RE: RUIN AMONG THE GARDENS MEMORIAL**

Dear Chair Carroll,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on March 17, 2021, the board unanimously approved the following resolution by a vote of 43 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS the Smallpox Hospital was designed by, James Renwick, an American architect in the 19th century and one of the most successful American Architects of his time;

**WHEREAS** the history of the Smallpox Hospital, situated on what was then known as Blackwell's Island and intertwined with the social and economic history of the city, should be preserved for generations to come; **WHEREAS** the hospital structure is located on the southernmost tip of the island — to the south is the human rights

memorial Four Freedoms Park and to the north is the Cornell Technion campus;

**WHEREAS** the project to create a memorial and a ruin among gardens open to the public is in the very initial planning and fundraising stages;

**WHEREAS** the Landmarks Committee of Community Board 8M supports creating a memorial and a garden at the "Ruins" that will remind New Yorkers of the history of the hospital, the history of the island and the history of the pandemics that the city has faced over the years, including Smallpox, AIDS, HIV, and COVID;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that this resolution is APPROVED as presented.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Chair

David Helpern and Jane Parshall

David Helpern and Jane Parshall Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District