Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill **District Manager**



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com-Websiteinfo@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York **Community Board 8 Manhattan**

April 22, 2021

Commissioner Mitchell Silver NYC Department of Parks and Recreation The Arsenal, Central Park 830 Fifth Ave. New York, NY 10065

RE: Parks Licensing Agreement for Space under Queensboro Bridge

Dear Commissioner Silver

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 21, 2021, the board unanimously APPROVED the following resolution by a vote of 48 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

Whereas; Both Community Boards 1 and 2 in Queens Support this Licensing Extension and it is of a benefit to the entire City of New York's Parks.

Whereas; Big ReUse has been a partner with the Roosevelt Island Compost initiative for 6 years and just under 80 tons of food scraps have been turned into compost from Roosevelt Island alone and that has directly benefited all of New York City's Parks.

Whereas; the Roosevelt Island Community has prioritized its Zero Waste initiatives and its collaboration with Haki Composting and Be ReUse and they are a major part of this effort and that this effort has continued even during the Pandemic.

Whereas; we believe that the cutbacks in Sanitation due to the Pandemic Crisis have detrimentally effected environmentally sound initiatives and we believe that preserving this composting site at all costs will help move the City back on track before the Pandemic Crisis creates a further Ecological Crisis in our City.

Be It Resolved; that we The Roosevelt Island Committee of Community Board 8 Manhattan and the Board Support the Parks Department extending a Licensing agreement with Big ReUse under the Queensboro Bridge at its current site indefinitely.

Lynne Strong-Shinozaki

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Russell Squire Lynne Strong-Shinozaki

Chair, Roosevelt Island Committee Chair

Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York cc:

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District