Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan Rules & By-Laws Committee Tuesday, March 30, 2021 - 6:30 PM Conducted Remotely via Zoom 505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

Minutes

Present: Elizbeth Ashby, Gayle P. Baron, Lowell Barton, Michele Birnbaum, Lori Ann Bores, Taina Borrero, Loraine Brown, Alida Camp, Barbara Chocky, Anthony Cohn, Saundrea Coleman, Brian Correia, Rebecca Dangoor, Felice Farber, Billy Feeland, Edward Hartzog, Craig Lader, Valerie Mason, Gregory Morris, Jane Parshall, Peter Patch, Harrison Person-Panes, Sharon Pope-Marshall, Rita Popper, Margaret Price, Elizabeth Rose, Barbara Rudder, Barry M. Schneider, Tricia Shimamura, Cos Spagnoletti, Russell Squire, Marco Tamayo, Carolina Tejo, Elaine Walsh, Charles Warren, Sharon Weiner

Co-Chair Chuck Warren kicked off the meeting by offering an introductory statement about the history of the how Community Board 8's Land Use Committee of the whole was established. Co-Chair Taina Borrero reminded attendees that the agenda topic was to discuss the scope and jurisdiction of the Zoning & Development and Land Use committees and not to discuss the merit of either committee's existence. Co-Chair Rebecca Dangoor reminded attendees of the challenges that have occurred in the past due to conflicting resolutions coming out of these two committees.

A lengthy discussion ensued with ample participation from both the public and members of Community Board 8. The majority of speakers commented in favor of keeping the committees as they are and many gave examples of why the Zoning & Development Committee is helpful in that it can get more specific on issues of importance before the ULURP period of an application. Several speakers commented on the fact that the Zoning & Development Committee often alerts local residents of a major proposals in their neighborhood. At least one member of the Board suggested that the two committees be combined, but the majority of speakers felt that the committees should be left as is.

No resolutions were proposed.

Taina Borrero, Rebecca Dangoor, and Charles Warren, Co-Chairs