Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill **District Manager**



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com-Websiteinfo@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York **Community Board 8 Manhattan**

April 22, 2021

Commissioner Hank Gutman Department of Transportation 55 Water Street New York, NY 10041

Shelton J. Haynes, President & CEO Roosevelt Island Operating Corporation 591 Main Street New York, NY 10044

RE: Bike Ramp Addition

Dear Commissioner Gutman and President Haynes:

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 21, 2021, the board unanimously **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 48 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

Whereas: the Roosevelt Island Operating Corporation has received Federal funds for this project

Whereas: This project is in keeping with a City-Wide effort to encourage the ridership and use of bikes.

Whereas: This contributes to the ecologically sound initiative that many Roosevelt Islanders and New Yorkers' support

Whereas: We also urge that any and all means will be employed by the Roosevelt Island Operating Corporation State and Local Officials to expedite this project.

Therefore, be it Resolved: That Community Board 8 Manhattan Supports the Proposal as Presented by RIOC

Be it Further Resolved that we urge all appropriate entities to expedite its construction and completion

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Lynne Strong-Shinozaki

Russell Squire Lynne Strong-Shinozaki Chair

Chair, Roosevelt Island Committee

Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District