Russell Squire Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com – Website info@cb8m.com – E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

RE: Accountability for Capitol Insurrection

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on February 17, 2021, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention and 0 not voting for cause:

Therefore be it resolved, Community Board 8 Manhattan condemns the terrorist actions of January 6th on our Capitol as a violent insurrection, a terrorist assault on our democracy, an expression of white supremacy, and the exhibition of hatred for the diversity that we value in our community,

Further resolved, Community Board 8 Manhattan continues to condemn the disparate treatment of peaceful protestors and white supremacist terrorists and other hate groups,

Further resolved, Community Board 8 Manhattan calls on our elected officials and the judicial system to hold accountable the elected officials who incited the January 6th attack by supporting baseless conspiracy theories that the election was fraudulent,

Further resolved, Community Board 8 Manhattan calls on law enforcement officials and the judicial system to hold those who participated and incited the insurrection accountable to the fullest extent of the law.

Further resolved, Community Board 8 Manhattan calls upon all people to ensure accountability for those who participated in the insurrection and to address the misinformation campaigns that led to the insurrection,

Further resolved, the events of January 6th are a reminder for all of us to redouble our efforts to combat structural racism and white supremacy, and Community Board 8 Manhattan calls on our community to work together to combat the structural forces that perpetuate hate and discrimination.

Sincerely,

Russell Squire

Saundrea I. Coleman and Sarah Chu

Russell Squire Chair Saundrea I. Coleman and Sarah Chu Co-Chairs, Social Justice Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable José M. Serrano, NYS Senator, 29th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Robert J. Rodriguez, NYS Assembly Member 68th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District