Alida Camp Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

September 17, 2020

Honorable Corey Johnson New York City Council Speaker City Hall Office New York, New York 10007

RE: Reconstruction of the East River Esplanade

Dear Speaker Johnson,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on September 16, 2020, the board **unanimously APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 46 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS in light of the recent collapse of the East River Esplanade at 76-74th Street, and

WHEREAS the two most recent major collapses, including at 89th Street at Gracie Mansion, have taken place between seawall inspection periods; and

WHEREAS there are several other areas of the East River Esplanade showing potential structural concerns;

BE IT RESOLVED CB8 requests an immediate inspection of the entire East River Esplanade from 60th to 120th Street to ensure the safety of all Esplanade users and to avoid any further emergency collapses; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED CB8 requests that the Parks Department erect more permanent barriers around potentially weakened areas of the Esplanade in order to ensure public safety; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED all engineering reports with previous assessments of the Esplanade and seawall should be submitted to Community Board 8, to be compared with a current report.

Sincerely,

Chair

Alida Camp Alida Camp Tricia Shimamura and Barry Schneider

Tricia Shimamura and M. Barry Schneider Co-Chairs, Parks and Waterfront Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Mitchell J. Silver, Commissioner, NYC Department of Parks and Recreation