Alida Camp Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 17, 2020

Polly Trottenberg Commissioner, NYC Department of Transportation 55 Water Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10041

RE: New Open Street Requests

Dear Commissioner Trottenberg,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 15, 2020, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 42 in favor, 2 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; New York City has established an Open Streets program which aims to provide expanded space for people to safely be outside for walking and other physical activity by prohibiting vehicular use during certain times of the day; and

WHEREAS; the 82nd Street St. Stephen's Greenmarket operates on Saturdays from 9:00AM to 2:30PM; and

WHEREAS; the popularity of the Greenmarket results in crowded conditions that make social distancing challenging at times; and

WHEREAS; Community Board 8 has received requests for 82nd Street to become an Open Street during the hours of the Greenmarket

WHEREAS; East End Avenue between 83rd and 89th Streets has been functioning well as an open street since May 2020; and Community Board 8 has supported expansion of the Open Street Program;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED; that Community Board 8 Manhattan requests the inclusion of 82nd Street between York Avenue and 1st Avenue in the New York City Department of Transportation Open Streets Program on Saturdays during the hours of operation of the Greenmarket.

Sincerely,

Alida Camp

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Alida Camp Chair Craig Lader and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District