Alida Camp Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 21, 2020

Sarah Feinberg Interim President, NYC Transit 2 Broadway New York, New York 10004 Polly Trottenberg Commissioner, NYC Department of Transportation 55 Water Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10041

RE: NYC Better Bus Action Plan

Dear President Feinberg and Commissioner Trottenberg,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 15, 2020, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 41 in favor, 2 opposed, 1 abstention, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; the Better Bus Action Plan was announced by New York City Department of Transportation in 2019, which included a series of projects and strategies to improve bus service that included upgrades to the 96th Street bus corridor;

WHEREAS; as average bus speeds have become slower in New York City in recent years, bus ridership has been on a steady decline; and

WHEREAS; New York City has announced significant budget cuts to the Better Bus Action Plan that would halt critical projects that would improve bus service; and

WHEREAS; A letter urging the reversal of these budget cuts has been sent by a large group of elected officials to Mayor De Blasio;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED; that Community Board 8 Manhattan supports the elected officials letter dated June 10, 2020 that urges New York City to fully fund the Better Bus Action Plan and to continue investing in the New York City Bus network

Sincerely,

Alida Camp

Chair

Alida Camp

Craig Lader and Charles Warren
Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District