Alida Camp Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

July 21, 2020

Polly Trottenberg Commissioner, NYC Department of Transportation 55 Water Street, 9<sup>th</sup> Floor New York, New York 10041

RE: Play Street Request - 76th Street between York Ave. and the FDR Drive (requested by The Town School and Lycee Francais de New York)

Dear Commissioner Trottenberg,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on July 15, 2020, the board approved the following resolution by a vote of 30 in favor, 12 opposed, 1 abstentions, and 1 not voting for cause.

**WHEREAS**; The Town School and Lycee Francais de New York, both located on East 76th Street between York Ave. and the FDR Drive, submitted a joint application to participate in NYCDOT's Play Street program; and

**WHEREAS**; the Play Street would result in street closures between 9:00AM and 2:45PM on school days while Covid-19 social distancing guidelines are necessary; and

**WHEREAS**; each school is reconfiguring indoor spaces such as gymnasiums and cafeterias into classrooms for social distancing purposes, students will be left with insufficient space to be able to safely get developmentally appropriate physical activity and social time together; and

**WHEREAS**; in response to comments raised by residents of the block, the school representatives were amenable to reducing the extent of the Play Street begin east of the John Jay House rather than in front of the building; and

**WHEREAS**; many residents of East 76th Street expressed opposition to the application, and board members suggested using parts of John Jay Park instead;

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**; that Community Board 8 Manhattan **DISAPPROVED** the joint application for a Play Street on East 76<sup>th</sup> Street as presented by The Town School and Lycee Francais de New York.

Sincerely,

Alida Camp

Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Alida Camp Craig Lader and Charles Warren
Chair Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5<sup>th</sup> Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4<sup>th</sup> Council District