Alida Camp Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

April 27, 2020

Polly Trottenberg Commissioner, NYC Department of Transportation 55 Water Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10041

RE: York Avenue Traffic Study

Dear Commissioner Trottenberg,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 22, 2020, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 30 in favor, 7 opposed, 4 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; Community Board 8 is on record supporting a comprehensive York Avenue Traffic Study from 59th Street to 96th Street to address safety and operational issues, including severe congestion from 79th Street and south, and

WHEREAS; NYCDOT has indicated that funding for the study is now reduced; and WHEREAS; York Avenue's primary choke points are primarily between 59th Streets and 79th Streets, including heavily trafficked segments near hospitals and institutions and at intersections where FDR Drive access/egress takes place; and

WHEREAS; a comprehensive study looking at the corridor between 59th and 79th Streets would achieve the same goals and objectives as the original study;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan requests New York City DOT conduct a comprehensive Study of York Avenue Traffic Operations that focuses on the segment of York Avenue between 59th Street and 79th Street the York Avenue, and the cross streets that impact York Avenue's traffic conditions.

Sincerely,

cc:

Alida Camp Alida Camp Craig Lader and Charles Warren
Craig Lader and Charles Warren
Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

Chair

Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District