Alida Camp Chair

Will Brightbill **District Manager**



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York **Community Board 8 Manhattan**

April 27, 2020

Polly Trottenberg Commissioner, NYC Department of Transportation 55 Water Street, 9th Floor New York, New York 10041

RE: Continuing discussion of proposed changes to New York State laws regarding e-bikes and escooters as described in the Governor's Proposed FY 2021 Executive Budget

Dear Commissioner Trottenberg,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on April 22, 2020, the board APPROVED the following resolution by a vote of 39 in favor, 1 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS; the Governor's Proposed FY 2021 Executive Budget contains provisions to legalize ebikes and e-scooters in New York State; and

WHEREAS; the inclusion of e-bike and e-scooter language does not allow a thorough public debate on the merits of legalizing e-bikes and e-scooters to take place; and

WHEREAS; Community Board 8 has held extensive discussions and taken nuanced positions on the legality of e-bikes and e-scooters that considered many local community factors;

WHEREAS; the issues regarding e-bikes and e-scooters are complex and varied, and additional factors of interest to local communities within New York City and across New York State should be fully considered;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan requests that Governor Cuomo and the legislature decouple e-bike and e-scooter legalization language from the FY 2021 Executive Budget and treat Class 1 e-bikes, Class 2 e-bikes, Class 3 e-bikes and e-scooters as separate pieces of State legislation.

Sincerely,

Alida Camp

Craig Lader and Charles Warren Alida Camp Craig Lader and Charles Warren

Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee Chair

Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York cc:

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District