Alida Camp Chair

Will Brightbill District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Community Board 8 Manhattan

October 25, 2019

Signe Nielsen President, Public Design Commission of the City of New York City Hall, Third Floor New York, NY 10007

RE: Proposal to Create a Statue in Central Park Honoring Three Women's Rights Pioneers

Dear President Nielsen,

At the Full Board meeting of Community Board 8 Manhattan held on October 23, 2019, the board unanimously **<u>approved</u>** the following resolution by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

WHEREAS the group, Monumental Women, is seeking to create a statute that would honor three pioneers in the struggle for women's rights; and

WHEREAS this statue would become the first in Central Park to depict historical figures who are women; and

WHEREAS the proposed statue, to be unveiled August 26, 2020, would commemorate the 100th anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, which gave women the right to vote; and

WHEREAS the \$1.5 million, 14-foot statue has been approved by the NYC Parks Department and Central Park Conservancy; therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8-Manhattan approves the proposal by Monumental Women to create a statue in Central Park depicting three women's rights pioneers, Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Sojourner Truth. The board further urges the City's public Design Commission to approve the project at the earliest possible date.

1

Please advise us of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely, Alida Came Chair

P. Gayle Baron and Margaret Price

Co-Chairs, Women's & Families Committee

Shine (w8)

Barry Schneider and Tricia Shimamura Co-Chairs, Parks & Waterfront Committee

 cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member 76th Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Keith Powers, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District