Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson **District Manager**



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York **Manhattan Community Board 8**

September 24, 2009

Honorable Michael Bloomberg Mayor of City of New York City Hall New York, NY 10007 Fax: 212-788-2989

RE: Street Vendors within the Upper East Side

Dear Mayor Bloomberg:

At the September 16, 2009 Full Board meeting of Manhattan Community Board 8, the following resolution was adopted by a vote of 46 in favor, 1 opposed, and 0 abstention.

WHEREAS CB8M has previously expressed its concerns over the issue of street vendors in a resolution dated January 23, 2006, and

WHEREAS the problems associated with legal and illegal street vendors continue to worsen in our community, and

WHEREAS the current system of regulation and enforcement has failed to address these problems, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the city establish clear and specific street restrictions, including a limit on the number of locations per block, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the city establish a new permitting system tied to specific vending locations, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the city establish a dedicated enforcement agency, and BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the city establish guidelines on the design and appearance of pushcarts and sidewalk furniture.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Nicholas Viest

Chair Chair, Vendor Task Force Committee

Cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Jose Serrano, New York State Senator Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member

Formatted: Complex Script Font: Angsana New, (Complex) Thai

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member Jonathan Mintz, Commissioner, Department of Consumer Affairs Thomas Farley, Commissioner, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Margaret Forgione, Manhattan Borough Commissioner, Department of Transportation Inspector James Murtagh, Commanding Officer 19th Precinct