Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

June 15, 2012

Sasha Frederick Sidewalk Café Unit Department of Consumer Affairs 42 Broadway New York, New York 10004

RE: <u>Starbucks Corporation d/b/a Starbucks Coffee</u>, <u>1515 York Avenue</u> (<u>80th/81st Street</u>) – New application for an unenclosed sidewalk café with 18 tables and 31 seats, DCA #1427775. Due date: June 22nd. Hours: 8am – 10pm. Food/Drink: 15/85.

Dear Ms. Frederick:

At the June 13, 2012 Land Use meeting of Manhattan Community Board 8, the following resolution was adopted by a vote of 41 in favor, 0 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

WHEREAS the applicant wishes to expand the size of the café,

WHEREAS there were several complaints about noise & early opening of the café in the private area,

WHEREAS the applicant will furnish to CB8 all permits for the use of the current location in the public space,

WHEREAS the applicant will keep to the legal DCA sidewalk café times for the whole of café,

WHEREAS the applicant will clean the area on a regular basis, every 20 minutes or so,

WHEREAS tables will not be out for use before agreed hours of operation (the tables will be placed on site for the night but only on the property area),

WHEREAS the applicant will not place A-frames in front of the establishment,

WHEREAS the applicant will be denied if they participate in bar-crawls,

WHERAS the applicant will not use electronic bikes,

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the application is Approved.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair Cos Spagnoletti & Domenico Minerva Co-Chairs, Street Life Committee

Cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Jose Serrano, New York State Senator Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Dan Quart, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member