Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8 Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com – E-Mail www.cb8m.com – Website

505 Park Avenue

May 17, 2012

Ms. Beverly Gotay Licensing Department Department of Consumer Affairs 42 Broadway New York, New York 10004 VIA FACSIMILE: 212-487-4212

RE: **244** East 86<sup>th</sup> Street, Southwest corner of 2<sup>nd</sup> Avenue and E. 86<sup>th</sup> Street – New application for a newsstand, License #1424641. Due date: June 22<sup>nd</sup> - *Joint item with the Second Avenue Subway Task Force* 

Dear Ms. Gotay:

At the May 9, 2012 Land Use meeting of Manhattan Community Board 8, the following resolution was adopted by a vote of 38 in favor, 2 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

WHEREAS there were several members from the public & the E. 86th Street Association,

**WHEREAS** the view of the committee was that this site is overly congested, the four corners of the intersection are under heavy construction, and the final outcome for bus stops, etc. will not be finalized for many years,

**WHEREAS** the committee felt that this location should have never been sent to Street life before further scrutiny by DCA & DOT,

**WHEREAS** the committee felt that this application was a burden on the applicant.

**BE IT RESOLVED THAT** the application is **DIS-Approved.** 

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT these applications, should be vetted by the relevant agencies before being forwarded to Community Boards.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Domenico Minerva & Cos Spagnoletti Chair Co-Chairs, Street Life Committee

Cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator Hon. Jose Serrano, New York State Senator

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Dan Quart, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member

Margaret Forgione, Manhattan Borough Commissioner, Department of Transportation

Claudia Wilson, Community Liaison, Sam Schwartz Engineering