Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

November 15, 2012

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 555 East 91st Street (between York Avenue and FDR Drive) – [Asphalt Green] – Individual Landmark

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Land Use/Full Board meeting on Wednesday, November 14, 2012, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **555 East 91**st **Street (between York Avenue and FDR Drive) – [Asphalt Green] – Individual Landmark** – *Swanke Hayden Connell Architects* – An asphalt plant designed by Kahn & Jacobs and built in 1941-44. Application to make restorations to the exterior façade.

WHEREAS the applicant proposes to make restorations to the exterior facade of a former asphalt plant designed and built in a parabolic shape made of concrete and unique for its time.

WHEREAS said restorations would be in two phases: Phase 1 for the South and North Elevations and Phase 2 for the West and East Elevations.

WHEREAS Phase 1 would involve selective concrete patching, replacement of deteriorated sealant, removal of loose and deteriorated paint, and the application of a new breathable coating.

WHEREAS Phase 2 would involve selective concrete crack repair, replacement of deteriorated sealant, removal of loose and deteriorated roof coating, and the application of a new roof coating.

WHEREAS the color and texture of the new materials used as part of Phase 1 and 2 will, to the extent possible, relate to the original color and texture of the building and there will be no change to the exterior shape of the building.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT this application is approved.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 26 in favor, 8 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair David Helpern and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member

Hon. Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member