Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

December 31, 2012

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 888 Madison Avenue aka 22 East 72nd Street [Ralph Lauren Store] – Upper East Side Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Land Use/Full Board meeting on Wednesday, November 14, 2012, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **888 Madison Avenue aka 22 East 72nd Street [Ralph Lauren Store] – Upper East Side Historic District -** *Thomas Hut, Partner* – A new commercial building designed by Weddle Gilmore and HS2 Architecture and completed in 2010. Application to legalize an existing roof-top mechanical unit.

WHEREAS the Landmarks Preservation Commission reviewed and approved the detailed drawings for the building when the applicant presented its application for the 4 story limestone beaux arts-style which has since replaced the then existing no-style two story building.

WHEREAS the mechanical unit, which is the subject of this current application, was part of the original application which contained sight lines showing visibility to the street.

WHEREAS the Commission has now recognized that, as indicated in the original, approved application, part of the mechanical unit is visible from the street, the Commission has requested that the applicant seek "legalization" of same although the Commission has not issued a formal violation to the applicant.

WHEREAS the mechanical unit is only minimally visible from the public way and does not significantly take away from the character and design of the building.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this application is approved.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair David Helpern and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member

Hon. Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member